Medically Speaking

I have no precise medical condition other than the obvious – obesity.

I am obese – oh how I wince when I read that and type it. I don’t think I’ve ever said it out loud, but now that I realize it I will likely push myself into admitting it out loud. I have high blood pressure and I’m a borderline diabetic. I’m frequently exhausted – not tired, but just worn out to a fine, sharp edge. I know that all of this comes from the choices I’ve made.

I wonder at times what motivates others to take this huge step to get healthy. Maybe you’ve started over and over again in your weight loss journey. There is a saying that goes “if you’re tired of starting over, stop giving up.”

Owww, that hurts, but it’s true.

Maybe you are just starting and if that’s true, then I’m glad you are here, thank you.

Maybe, like me, your doctor has given you all of the information about where you are going should you keep doing what you’ve done for years. The definition of insanity is doing the same things over and over and expecting different results. HA!  So sad, and yet true!

Maybe you are starting again. I share that, and get that, and promise that I am with you in many ways.

I do want to clarify with you. My goal is NOT strictly weight loss and I’m so glad to tell you that, to say it out loud. My goal is about learning to eat and appreciate healthy food, my goal is to be nicer to me, to learn how to eat properly, and to keep my weight off for forever.

This is a tough experience. It’s truly hard to lose weight.

Leave a Reply

